Inaugurating the operating room in Osh

In April 2014, a Swiss delegation travelled to Osh to inspect the new operating room in the regional clinic. The local physicians were very pleased and grateful for the facilities, which are very modern by regional standards.

original

In April 2014, a Swiss delegation travelled to Osh to inspect the new operating room in the regional clinic. The local physicians were very pleased and grateful for the facilities, which are very modern by regional standards.

Many more children in Osh, located in southern Kyrgyzstan, are born with cleft lips and palates than elsewhere. The aim of building the clinic is to provide children who live in the southern part of the country with medical treatment close to home. Among other things, those who travel north must go over a large mountain chain, which is impossible for most families.

The opening of the new hospital facilities was attended by all who participated in its construction as well as the hospital’s management team. Following the opening, the Swiss guests attended a cleft lip operation and saw the skilled work of the physicians for themselves. During their visit, they met many children who had received professional operations, an important sign that our work is bearing fruit and that the young people can look forward to a brighter future.

Bishkek – the orthodontic team at work
In spring 2014, the European team of physicians, including a speech therapist, visited the children’s hospital in Bishkek. Our experts were especially happy to see that their local colleagues had gained all of the specialist knowledge necessary to treat cleft lips and palates since their last visit. Thanks to the close support they received, the Kyrgyz team is now able to examine the young patients themselves, provide their parents with expert advice and carry out the operations themselves. Follow-up care is also crucial. Thanks to the involvement of a Swiss speech therapist this expertise has also been shared with the children’s hospital. A local specialist has been hired and a treatment room, integrated in the orthodontic department, has been set up. However, there is still one challenge remaining – improving the horrendous state of oral care among young children. Unfortunately, our pleas to regional dentists fall on deaf ears – for the moment, at least. But in general it can be said that the project is making good progress, and the next steps – such as the construction of a staff room and the establishment of a stable internet connection – are well under way.

×

Inauguration de la salle d’opération à Osh

En avril 2014, une délégation suisse s’est rendue à Osh afin de voir de ses yeux la nouvelle salle d’opération de la clinique Oblast. Les médecins locaux ont montré beaucoup de joie et de gratitude pour les installations hospitalières, aux équipements modernes pour les circonstances locales.

original

A Osh, dans le sud du pays, un nombre bien plus important d’enfants viennent au monde avec une malformation labio-palatine. Avec la construction de la clinique, nous poursuivons l’objectif de fournir des soins médicaux aux enfants dans leur environnement local. Autre raison, le chemin vers le nord passe par une chaîne de montagnes difficilement franchissable pour la plupart des familles.

L’inauguration des installations hospitalières a été officiellement célébrée en présence de tous les acteurs impliqués et de la direction de l’hôpital. Par la suite, les invités suisses ont également pu assister à une intervention chirurgicale et se rendre compte du travail qualifié pratiqué par les médecins. Au cours leur visite, ils ont pu rencontrer de nombreux enfants opérés par des professionnels, un signe important que notre travail porte ses fruits et donne aux jeunes un avenir meilleur.

Bichkek – L’équipe d’orthodontie au travail 
Au printemps 2014, l’équipe médicale européenne, dont une orthophoniste, a visité l’hôpital pour enfants de Bichkek. Nos experts ont été particulièrement heureux de constater que les collègues locaux disposaient désormais de l’expertise requise pour le traitement des fentes labio-palatines. Grâce à un suivi renforcé, ils sont aujourd’hui en mesure d’examiner eux-mêmes les patients, de prodiguer des conseils avisés aux parents et de procéder aux interventions appropriées. Le suivi post-opératoire est également d’une importance capitale. A l’initiative d’une orthophoniste suisse, ces connaissances ont également pu être instillées aux équipes de l’hôpital pour enfants. Un spécialiste local a été engagé et une salle de traitement intégrée au service de chirurgie maxillo-faciale a été mise en place. L’un des défis reste cependant d’optimiser les conditions de soins toujours effroyablement désolantes des dents des tout-petits. Malheureusement, notre souhait de prévention par les dentistes régionaux reste (pour l’heure) lettre morte. Cependant, on peut en principe affirmer que l’avancement du projet est essentiellement positif et que les prochaines étapes, par exemple l’agrandissement d’une salle du personnel ou l’établissement d’une connexion Internet stable, sont également lancées.

×